The Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Chengdu (CDETO) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was set up in September 2006. It is the fourth HKSAR Government office set up in the Mainland to foster closer economic and trade links and cooperation, as well as exchanges on other fronts, between the HKSAR and the Mainland. CDETO’s coverage includes the western part of China, i.e. the four Provinces of Sichuan, Shaanxi, Guizhou and Qinghai, the Municipality of Chongqing and Tibet Autonomous Region.

Background

To further promote exchanges and cooperation between HKSAR and the eastern and south-western regions of China, the Chief Executive announced in his 2005-06 Policy Address the plan to set up additional offices in Shanghai and Chengdu. Upon the approval of the State Council, CDETO was established in September 2006 and the then coverage of which included the five Provinces of Sichuan, Shaanxi, Guizhou, Hunan and Yunnan, and the Municipality of Chongqing. Following the establishment of the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Wuhan in April 2014, CDETO’s coverage has been revised to cover six provinces/municipality/autonomous region of Sichuan, Shaanxi, Guizhou, Qinghai, Chongqing and Tibet.

Role

The objectives of setting up CDETO are to enhance economic cooperation between the HKSAR and the area concerned; strengthen business and trade links; assist Mainland enterprises to invest in Hong Kong or to enter the world market through Hong Kong; and provide support for Hong Kong businesses with operations in these places. CDETO will also assist businessmen to obtain business and trade information about the HKSAR, and the covered area, in order to facilitate their business expansion. CDETO has also set up an immigration team to provide practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress in the above six provinces/municipality/autonomous region. With increasing contacts between the people of Hong Kong and the Mainland, CDETO also organises different kinds of promotional activities to introduce Hong Kong and its latest developments to the people of the covered area with a view to enhancing their knowledge and understanding of Hong Kong; maintains close liaison with Hong Kong people and Hong Kong organisations, provides practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress, and set up an immigration team to provide emergency support to Hong Kong residents, in the covered area.

Chongqing Liaison Unit and Shaanxi Liaison Unit

With a view to strengthening and deepening the liaison and co-operation with Chongqing Municipality and Shaanxi Province, the HKSAR Government subsequently set up the Chongqing Liaison Unit and the Shaanxi Liaison Unit under CDETO in Chongqing and Xi'an in January 2012 and April 2017 respectively.

香港特别行政区政府驻成都经济贸易办事处(驻成都办)是香港特别行政区政府在内地成立的第四个办事处,旨在进一步促进香港特区与内地在经贸上的联系合作,以及其他方面的交流。驻成都办的服务范围集中在中国西部地区,包括四川省、陕西省、贵州省、青海省、重庆直辖市及西藏自治区。

背景

为进一步推动香港特区与华东和西南地区的交流及合作,香港特别行政区行政长官于2005-06年施政报告中公布计划在上海和成都增加设点。经国务院批准,驻成都办于2006年9月正式成立,当时的服务范围包括四川省、陕西省、贵州省、湖南省、云南省及重庆直辖市。随着驻武汉经济贸易办事处于2014年4月成立,驻成都办的服务范围调整为四川、陕西、贵州、青海、重庆及西藏六省市自治区。

角色

成立驻成都办的目的是促进香港特区与其服务范围的经济合作,加强商贸联系,协助内地企业往香港特区投资或透过香港特区进军世界,并对在其服务范围内经营业务的港商提供支援。驻成都办还会协助商界人士取得有关香港特区及其服务范围内的商贸资料,方便他们拓展业务。随着两地人民交往日趋频密,驻成都办也通过举办各种宣传活动,向服务范围内的民众介绍香港的最新情况和发展,以加深他们对香港的认识和了解;在服务范围内与当地港人和团体保持紧密联系,为当地遇上困难的香港居民提供协助;又设有入境事务组,为身处当地的香港居民提供紧急支援服务。

驻重庆联络处及驻陕西联络处

为加强和深化香港与重庆市和陕西省的联系和合作,特区政府分别于2012年1月及2017年4月在重庆市和西安市成立隶属于驻成都办的驻重庆联络处和驻陕西联络处。