The Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Chengdu (CDETO) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was set up in September 2006. It is the fourth HKSAR Government office set up in the Mainland to foster closer economic and trade links and cooperation, as well as exchanges on other fronts, between the HKSAR and the Mainland. CDETO’s coverage includes the western part of China, i.e. the four Provinces of Sichuan, Shaanxi, Guizhou and Qinghai, the Municipality of Chongqing and Tibet Autonomous Region.


To further promote exchanges and cooperation between HKSAR and the eastern and south-western regions of China, the Chief Executive announced in his 2005-06 Policy Address the plan to set up additional offices in Shanghai and Chengdu. Upon the approval of the State Council, CDETO was established in September 2006 and the then coverage of which included the five Provinces of Sichuan, Shaanxi, Guizhou, Hunan and Yunnan, and the Municipality of Chongqing. Following the establishment of the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Wuhan in April 2014, CDETO’s coverage has been revised to cover six provinces/municipality/autonomous region of Sichuan, Shaanxi, Guizhou, Qinghai, Chongqing and Tibet.


The objectives of setting up CDETO are to enhance economic cooperation between the HKSAR and the area concerned; strengthen business and trade links; assist Mainland enterprises to invest in Hong Kong or to enter the world market through Hong Kong; and provide support for Hong Kong businesses with operations in these places. CDETO will also assist businessmen to obtain business and trade information about the HKSAR, and the covered area, in order to facilitate their business expansion. CDETO has also set up an immigration team to provide practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress in the above six provinces/municipality/autonomous region. With increasing contacts between the people of Hong Kong and the Mainland, CDETO also organises different kinds of promotional activities to introduce Hong Kong and its latest developments to the people of the covered area with a view to enhancing their knowledge and understanding of Hong Kong; maintains close liaison with Hong Kong people and Hong Kong organisations, provides practical assistance to Hong Kong residents in distress, and set up an immigration team to provide emergency support to Hong Kong residents, in the covered area.

Chongqing Liaison Unit and Shaanxi Liaison Unit

With a view to strengthening and deepening the liaison and co-operation with Chongqing Municipality and Shaanxi Province, the HKSAR Government subsequently set up the Chongqing Liaison Unit and the Shaanxi Liaison Unit under CDETO in Chongqing and Xi'an in January 2012 and April 2017 respectively.