Technology Talent Admission Scheme

Why choosing Hong Kong?

Hong Kong has been acclaimed as the world’s most open, freest and most competitive city by many international organisations. Hong Kong enjoys the unique advantages under “One Country, Two Systems”, as well as the excellent connectivity with Mainland China and the rest of the world. Supported by its strong research and development (“R&D”) capability, world-class universities, and a robust intellectual property protection regime, Hong Kong has high capacity in innovation and technology (“I&T”). With the full support from the Mainland, Hong Kong is rapidly developing into a hub for technology start-ups. The Government has nurtured a conducive environment for technology start-ups in collaboration with local R&D institutions and universities, and has implemented various measures to promote the development of I&T.

The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“HKSAR”) set out a number of measures in The 2019 Policy Address to further promote the development of I&T. Among them, the Technology Talent Admission Scheme (“TechTAS”) is enhanced to speed up the admission of technology talent.

How to Apply?

TechTAS provides a fast-track arrangement for eligible Hong Kong technology companies to admit overseas and Mainland technology talent to undertake R&D work for them in the HKSAR.

Application Procedures

Any companies in Hong Kong engaged in R&D in the areas of artificial intelligence, biotechnology, cybersecurity, data analytics, financial technologies, material science, robotics, 5G communications, digital entertainment, green technology, integrated circuit design, Internet-of-Things or microelectronics, having substantive business in the HKSAR and with a valid Business Registration Certificate are eligible to apply for a quota from the Innovation and Technology Commission (“ITC”) of HKSAR. A company allotted with a quota may accordingly sponsor an eligible person to apply for an employment visa/entry permit from Hong Kong Immigration Department within the 12-month quota validity period. It normally takes two weeks to process applications for employment visa/entry permit under TechTAS upon receipt of all the required documents.

Eligibility Criteria

An application for a visa/entry permit to take up employment under TechTAS may be favourably considered if:

  1. there is no security objection and no known record of serious crime in respect of the applicant;
  2. the employing company has a valid quota approved by ITC at the time of application;
  3. the applicant is employed as a full-time employee in the HKSAR by the employing company;
  4. the applicant is engaged principally in conducting R&D in the aforesaid 13 technology areas;
  5. the applicant is a degree-holder in science, technology, engineering or mathematics (“STEM”) from a well-recognised university. A well-recognised university refers to the top 100 universities in the latest publications of STEM-related ranking tables of Quacquarelli Symonds (QS), Times Higher Education and Shanghai Jiao Tong University’s Academic Ranking of World Universities (also known as Shanghai Ranking). Work experience is not compulsory for those with a Master’s or Doctoral degree, whereas those with a Bachelor’s degree only should possess a minimum of one year of work experience in the relevant technology area. Persons not meeting the academic requirements but possessing good technical skills in specialty areas, proven professional abilities and/or relevant experience and achievements can be considered on a case-by-case basis with full justifications. In such case, relevant documentary evidence should be provided;
  6. the applicant is offered remuneration not lower than the prevailing market level for comparable jobs in the HKSAR;
  7. the applicant meets the specific particulars pertaining to the job position set out in the quota allotment letter issued by ITC; and
  8. the bona fides of the employing company and the applicant are not in doubt.

Dependants and Right of Abode

Applicants admitted under TechTAS may apply to bring in their spouses and their unmarried dependent children under the age of 18 to Hong Kong under the prevailing dependant policy. Persons admitted under TechTAS who have ordinarily resided in the HKSAR for a continuous period of not less than seven years may apply for the right of abode in the HKSAR in accordance with the law.

Related Links

科技人才入境計劃

為何選擇香港?

香港一直被多家國際機構評為最開放、自由和具競爭力的城市。香港擁有「一國兩制」的獨特優勢,並與中國內地以至全球各地緊密連繫。憑藉雄厚的科研實力、世界級的大學,以及完備的知識產權保障制度,香港具備優越條件發展創新及科技。在國家全力支持下,香港正迅速發展為科技初創企業樞紐。政府與本地科研機構和各間大學為科技初創企業營造有利環境,並推出多項措施推動創科發展。

香港特別行政區行政長官在2019年《施政報告》中推出多項進一步推動創科發展的措施,當中包括優化「科技人才入境計劃」,加快輸入科技人才。

如何申請?

「科技人才入境計劃」旨在透過快速處理安排,讓合資格的香港科技公司申請輸入海外和內地的科技人才來港從事研發工作。

申請程序

在香港的公司若從事人工智慧、生物科技、網絡安全、數據分析、金融科技、材料科學、機械人技術、5G通訊、數碼娛樂、綠色科技、集成電路設計、物聯網或微電子範疇的研發工作,並在香港擁有實質業務和持有有效的商業登記證,便符合資格向香港創新科技署申請「科技人才入境計劃」的配額。獲發配額的公司可於12個月的配額有效期內為合資格的科技人才向香港入境事務處申請工作簽證/進入許可。收到所有申請材料後,一般約需兩個星期便能完成審批。

審批準則

根據「科技人才入境計劃」申請來港就業的科技人才如符合下列準則,有關申請可獲考慮批准:

  1. 申請人沒有嚴重犯罪記錄,及無保安理由拒絕其申請;
  2. 在遞交申請時,聘用公司已獲香港創新科技署批出有效配額;
  3. 申請人獲聘用公司聘請在香港特區作全職僱員;
  4. 申請人主要從事上述13個科技範疇的研發工作;
  5. 申請人持有具特別認受性的大學所頒授的科學、科技、工程或數學(簡稱「STEM」)學科學位。具特別認受性的大學是指「QS世界大學排名榜」、「倫敦時報高等教育世界大學排名榜」和「上海交通大學世界大學學術排名」這三個世界大學排名榜內最新公佈與STEM相關的排名榜上首100間的大學。持有碩士或博士學位者無需工作經驗,而持有學士學位者則須具備最少一年在相關科技範疇的工作經驗。不符合上述的學歷要求,但在特定範疇上具備良好技術資格、經證明的專業能力或有相關經驗和成就的科技人才,可基於充分的理據按個別情況予以考慮。在此情況下的申請須提供有關證明文件;
  6. 申請人的薪酬應不低於香港特區類似職位現時的市場薪酬水準;
  7. 申請人符合香港創新科技署發出的獲發配額通知書上就相關職位列明的特定條件;及
  8. 聘用公司和申請人的真正目的並無疑問。

受養人及居留權

申請人也可以按現行受養人政策,申請帶同配偶及18歲以下未婚受養子女一同赴港。根據「科技人才入境計劃」來港就業的人士,如在港連續通常居住不少於七年,可依法申請香港特區居留權。

相關連結