Living in the Mainland

General Information about Living in the Mainland

China covers a land area of 9.6 million square kilometers and currently consists of four municipalities (Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin and Chongqing), 23 provinces, five autonomous regions (Tibet, Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, and Guangxi) directly under the Central Government, and two special administrative regions (Hong Kong and Macao).

Chengdu is the capital-city of Sichuan Province, as well as the political, economic and cultural center of the Province. Chengdu serves as a hub for both land and air transportation and plays an important role in the contexts of both domestic and international communications. As of end 2020, the population of Chengdu stood at approximately 20.9 million. Chengdu covers a land area of 14,335 square kilometers, which is divided into 12 districts, 5 county-sized cities and 3 counties.

Weather

China spans over a vast geographical area. Local weather varies considerably from one location to another. Latest weather information of different regions can be found at the website of China Meteorological Administration.

China Meteorological Administration

With a long summer and short winter, Chengdu has a climate featuring "no intense heat in summer and few snows in winter", which is quite moderate with a long frost-free season and relatively active rainfalls in autumn and at night. The climate also features a low wind speed, high humidity, many clouds & mists and little sunshine. The annual mean temperature is 15.5~18.2℃. During the extreme weathers, the highest temperature can reach 36.6~39.5℃, while the lowest temperature -3.5~0.3℃. The annual total precipitation ranges from 829mm to 1784mm, of which most rainfalls occur in July and August, accounting for about half of the annual total precipitation. In general, months including May to August witness the rainstorms.

Currency

China's official currency is Renminbi (RMB), commonly known as Yuan. Paper bill includes 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 Yuan and 1, 5 Jiao, and coins include 1, 5 Jiao and 1 Yuan. Currency exchange service is available at banks.

Besides cash, banking service is also available for Hong Kong residents living in the Mainland. In general, a mobile phone which can receive message in the Mainland as well as basic documents which include, but not limited to the following, are required for opening bank accounts:

Identification Document, e.g. passport, Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao Residents (commonly known as "Home Visit Permit")

Statement with residential address

Please check with specific banks for detailed application process and related information if necessary.

Voltage

As with most other countries, China adopts the metric measurement system. Household voltage is 220 volts in the Mainland. No voltage conversion is needed if travelers want to use electrical appliance purchased from Hong Kong. However, the power plug is different from those commonly used in Hong Kong and thus a plug adapter is required. The typical shapes of power plugs in the Mainland are shown in the pictures below.

3-legged power plug in China 2-legged power plug in China

Transportation

Overview

All automotive vehicles, non-automotive vehicles and pedestrians should keep to the right side of the road in the Mainland, which differs from the practice of keeping to the left in Hong Kong.

Besides, the traffic rules also differ. In the Mainland, vehicles may take right turn even if the red light is on, but this would only be applicable where no disturbance is made to cars or pedestrians passing by (however, if the red light signaling right turn is an arrow instead of a round shape, vehicles would be prohibited from taking the right turn until the light turns green). In Hong Kong, on the other hand, no vehicles may take the right turn whenever the red light is on.

Pedestrians and drivers of automotive vehicles and non-automotive vehicles should observe traffic rules applicable in the Mainland. Besides, Chengdu has promulgated and implemented specific local rules. For more information, please refer to the website of the Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau (Chinese Version Only): 

Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau

Public Transportation in Chengdu

1Subway

There are many subway lines operating in Chengdu, including Line 1, Line 2, Line 3, Line 4, Line 5, Line 6, Line 7,Line 8, Line 9,Line 10, Line 17,Line 18 and Tram Line 2.

For more detailed information, please refer to the website of Chengdu Metro:

Chengdu Metro

2Taxi

Taxi fare in Chengdu starts from RMB 8. A surcharge would be levied for usage between 23:00-6:00 the following day. For detailed information, please refer to the website of the Chengdu Transport Bureau or dial (028) 83355363.

Chengdu Transport Bureau

3E-hailing Service

In recent years, E-hailing service is very popular in the Mainland. Passengers can hail for service on the spot or by making prior appointments with drivers of private cars and taxies for transportation service via APP or on the web. Further details are available from common search engines on the internet.

4Buses

Chengdu has a comprehensive bus network that basically covers the whole city. For more information about routes and fare, please visit the website of Chengdu Public Transport Group Co., Ltd or call the services hotline: (028)85076868.

Chengdu Public Transport Group Co., Ltd

5Railway

Chengdu is one of the hubs of western China's railway network. There are several railway stations in Chengdu, namely Chengdu Railway Station, Chengdu East Railway Station, Chengdu West Railway Station and Chengdu South Railway Station. Passengers are advised to be mindful of the departing and arriving stations when purchasing railway tickets and taking trains.

To purchase railway tickets, Hong Kong residents would be required to provide valid identity documents such as Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao Residents. In order to purchase train tickets, passengers may visit the ticketing offices located at relevant railway stations, via ticketing hotlines (purchasing hotline: (028)95105105),website of 12306 China Railway or APP, etc.

For further information, please refer to the website of 12306 China Railway:https://www.12306.cn/en/index.html.

The China Railway Corporation announced in June 2017 that automatic ticket vending and issuing machines which could read and verify Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao Residents with embedded chips had been installed at railway stations in Beijing, Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Fujian, Shandong, Hunan, Guangdong, Sichuan, Chongqing, Shaanxi, etc. Hong Kong and Macao compatriots can now purchase and collect tickets with their Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao Residents at these railways stations which they frequently use.

6Air

There are two international airports in Chengdu, i.e. Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport and Chengdu Tianfu International Airport. The Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport is located in the Shuangliu county, 16 kilometers away from the city center and connected by Chengdu Metro Line 10. There is an expressway connecting the downtown and the airport. In addition, long-haul buses to major cities in Sichuan, airport shuttle buses to the downtown and taxi are available in the airport. For further information, please refer to the website of Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport, or dial (028) 85205555.

Chengdu Tianfu International Airport, which was put into operation in June 2021, is located in Jianyang City,Chengdu. The airport is 51 kilometers away from the city center and connected by Chengdu Metro Line 18. For further information, please dial (028) 86906666.

7Bike-sharing

In recent years, bike-sharing service is very popular in the Mainland. In general, users of different bike rental companies may need to pay certain amount of deposit before using the service. However, some e-platforms provide deposit-free bike rental service. Further details are available from common search engines on the internet.

Driving

1Driving License

Hong Kong residents are required to obtain valid driving licenses if they wish to drive in the Mainland. Drivers should carry their driving licenses while driving. Hong Kong residents who meet relevant conditions promulgated by the Ministry of Public Security (including requirements in age and physical and other conditions, etc.) could apply for driving licenses from traffic management departments.

For more information about the application of driving licenses, please refer to the website of the Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau of the Chengdu Municipal Public Security Bureau (Chinese Version Only):

Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau.

2Renting cars

If Hong Kong people would like to drive in Chengdu, they could rent a car from the local car leasing companies. Generally, Hong Kong people are required to provide photocopies of their Mainland Travel Permit for Hong Kong and Macao Residents and driving licence as well as intended leasing period to the car leasing companies when entering into car rental contracts. For more information, please visit the website of the car leasing companies.

3Traffic management measure for automotive vehicles

All vehicles including「川A」license plates and non-local ones should obey the requirements of traffic restriction in specific periods, zones and regulations specified by the Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau.

For more information, please refer to the website of the Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau of the Chengdu Municipal Public Security Bureau (Chinese Version Only)

Chengdu Traffic Management Bureau

Purchasing Properties

Since the laws and procedures of purchasing properties in the Mainland are different from that of Hong Kong, purchasers may note the requirements and seek professional advice as appropriate. An article on it is provided for reference.

https://www.cdeto.gov.hk/file/pdf/home/ndzyjl_tc.pdf(Chinese version only)

Top

生活在內地

生活資訊

中國幅員遼闊,陸地面積約960萬平方公里,目前的行政區劃為:4個直轄市(北京、上海、天津和重慶),23個省,5個自治區(西藏自治區、新疆維吾爾自治區、內蒙古自治區、寧夏回族自治區和廣西壯族自治區),2個特別行政區(香港和澳門特別行政區)。

成都是四川省的省會,是四川省的政治、經濟和文化中心,也是該省陸路和航空交通的總樞紐和最重要的國際交往中心。截至2020年末,成都市常住人口為2093萬人。成都全市面積為14335平方公里,設有12區5市(縣級市)3縣。

氣候

中國地域遼闊,各地氣候各有特色,差異甚大。如希望了解各地的最新天氣情況,可參閱中國氣象局網站:http://www.cma.gov.cn。

成都具有「夏無酷暑,冬少冰雪,氣候溫和,夏長冬短,無霜期長,秋雨和夜雨較多,風速小,濕度大,雲霧多,日照少」的氣候特點,年均氣溫15.5~18.2℃。年極端最高氣溫為36.6~39.5℃,年極端最低氣溫為-3.5~0.3℃。年總降雨量為829-1784毫米,雨量主要集中在7—8月,約佔全年降雨量的一半,暴雨期普遍出現在5—8月。

貨幣

內地的官方貨幣為人民幣。目前在外流通的紙幣面值有1、5、10、20、50、100元及1、5角,硬幣面值有1角、5角和1元。大型銀行的各個分行也可以進行貨幣兌換。

港人在內地生活,除了備有現金外,也可以在內地銀行開立個人帳戶,並可以申請辦理網上銀行服務。開立個人銀行帳戶,一般需要向銀行提供以下資料/文件:

個人身份證件,如護照、港澳居民來往內地通行證(即回鄉證)等

居住地址證明

如有需要,請向各銀行查詢開立個人帳戶的手續和詳情。

電壓

內地採用公制度量衡,與世界上多數國家一致。

內地的生活用電電壓為220伏特,在香港購買的電器在內地使用無需轉換電壓。但須注意的是,內地慣用的電源插頭形狀與香港不同,在內地使用在香港購買的電器需要使用插頭形狀轉換器。內地慣用的電源插頭形狀如下圖所示:

內地慣用三角插頭 內地慣用二角插頭

交通

概述

內地機動車、非機動車及行人均實行右側通行,這與香港採用的「左行制」不同。

兩地信號燈的通行規則也略有差異。在內地紅燈亮時,右轉彎的車輛在不妨礙被放行的車輛、行人通行的情況下,可以通行(但如果紅燈不是圓的,而是箭頭時,表明紅燈亮時,右轉彎的車輛不得通行)。在香港紅燈亮時,車輛一律不得通行。

在內地各省市駕駛機動車、非機動車及行人,應遵守內地交通規則。此外,成都市也頒布並實施了具體的地方規定。如欲了解更多資訊,請參考成都市公安局交通管理局網站:

成都市公安局交通管理局網站

成都的公共交通服務

1地鐵

成都已開通多條地鐵線路,包括1號線、2號線、3號線、4號線、5號線、6號線、7號線、8號線、9號線、10號線、17號線、18號線及蓉2號線。

欲了解更詳細資訊,請參考成都地鐵網站:

成都地鐵網站

2出租車(的士)

成都市出租車收費一般由8元起,在23:00至次日6:00會收取一定費用的額外服務費。如有問題請諮詢成都市交通運輸局(電話:(028) 83355363 )。

成都市交通運輸局網站

3網約車

近年內地十分流行網約車,乘客可以APP或上網預約(包括私家車和一般出租車)。詳情可瀏覽一般搜索網站的介紹。

4公交車(巴士)

成都市內公交車網絡系統完善,可讓市民方便地到達市內大部分地方。有關線路及票價,可向成都市公共交通集團有限公司(電話:(028) 85076868)查詢。

成都市公共交通集團有限公司網站

5鐵路

成都是中國西部鐵路網的中心之一。成都市內有多個主要客運火車站(成都站、成都東站、成都西站及成都南站)。乘客在購票時及乘車前需注意其乘坐班次的始發站。

火車購票實行實名制,香港居民可使用回鄉證等有效身份證件購買車票。乘客可到車站購票,或透過電話(購票電話:(028)95105105)、中國鐵路12306官網及手機應用程式等方式購買車票。

欲了解更詳細資訊,可瀏覽中國鐵路12306官網:https://www.12306.cn/

中國鐵路總公司在2017年6月公布,該公司已在北京、上海、江蘇、浙江、福建、山東、湖南、廣東、四川、重慶、陝西等地港澳同胞購、取票流量較大的火車站設置了可識讀內置晶片的港澳居民來往內地通行證的自動售取票設備,方便港澳同胞憑港澳居民來往內地通行證自助購取票。

6航空

成都市有雙流國際機場和成都天府國際機場兩座國際機場。雙流國際機場位於成都市雙流縣,距市中心約16公里,由成都地鐵10號綫連接。機場與市中心有高速公路相連,另設有通往省內主要城市的長途汽車、直達市區的機場巴士和出租車服務站。欲了解更詳細資料,可參考成都雙流國際機場網站,或電話諮詢(028) 85205555。

成都天府國際機場位於成都簡陽市,於2021年6月投運。機場距離成都市中心51公里,由成都地鐵18號綫連接。欲了解更詳細資料,可電話諮詢(028) 86906666。

7共享單車

近年內地十分流行共享單車,提供自行車時租共享服務。一般而言,不同租車公司的服務使用者或須先繳付不同金額的按金才可使用服務,但亦有一些平台提供免按金租車服務。詳情可瀏覽一般搜索網站的介紹。

駕駛

1駕駛證

香港居民在內地駕駛機動車,應當依法取得機動車駕駛證。駕駛機動車時,應當隨身攜帶機動車駕駛證。符合國務院公安部門規定的駕駛許可條件(包括年齡、身體條件等)的香港居民,可向公安機關交通管理部門申請機動車駕駛證。

欲了解申請駕駛證的更詳細資料,可參考成都市公安局交通管理局網站: 成都市公安局交通管理局網站

2租車

如果香港人想在成都開車,可以前往本地租車公司租車。通常需要與租車公司簽訂租賃合同並提供港澳居民來往內地通行證和駕駛證的影印本以及預計租賃時間。詳情請參閱有關租車公司網站。

3機動車限行交通管理措施

根據《成都市車輛尾號限行規定》及《成都市公安局交通管理局關於調整汽車尾號限行區域的通告》:所有「川A」及外地籍號牌汽車需遵循限行時間、區域和規則等要求。具體限行要求可參考成都市公安局交通管理局網站。

成都市公安局交通管理局網站

置業

由於在內地購房的法例和程序與香港不同,買家可留意有關要求並尋求專業意見。以下資訊供參考:

https://www.cdeto.gov.hk/file/pdf/home/ndzyjl_tc.pdf
點擊返回頁面頂部